FlashVars and Context

derekrosien

25 Mar, 2011 10:08 PM

Hi there, I am brand new to Robotlegs ( and absolutely LOVE IT, it has changed the way I think about everything now)...

I saw a thread on FlashVars ( http://knowledge.robotlegs.org/discussions/questions/63-how-to-hand... )

I have one question if anyone can help me out a bit.

So I will get the following first thing in the startUp of the context
var _flashVars:Object = contextView.stage.loaderInfo.parameters;

What is the best technique to set these flashVars into a model?

I was thinking of creating a AppDataModel and storing them there. Then injecting this model wherever I would need to access one of the flashVars throughout the application.

My next thought along this track would be to make a command to set these variables in this model...

I guess my question is:

How do I immediately call a command to do this right at the start of the context? And will this command completely finish and then the context will continue on from there?

Like if I map mediators after this that will inject the AppDataModel, will the command finish and update all the variables it needs to before any other class injects the AppDataModel and the rest of the context does what it needs to, will that have all the flashvars set?

Thanks a lot for the help.

Derek

1. 2 Posted by derekrosien on 25 Mar, 2011 10:14 PM

Just created an account on this site now... not sure if I needed to do this first.

2. 3 Posted by Michal Wroblewski on 25 Mar, 2011 10:26 PM

Hi Derek,

Your thoughts on this are right. Just create Signal/Command something like StartupCommand. Then in that command you can inject AppDataModel and call a method, something like appDataModel.parseFlashVars(flashVarsObject). In that StartupCommand you can do whatever you want to init your app, e.g. init service action to load some data at start or anything else you want.

Mike

BTW. Great choice - I mean Robotlegs ;)