Concerning removing event handlers, etc?

rickcr

20 Mar, 2010 01:41 PM

I'm pretty new to Flex/AS and was reading a chapter in Essential Action Script and it mentions you should always remove event listeners when they are no longer needed. I know this question isn't exactly RL specific but since I'm using RL I'm wondering if there are some framework things I need to consider. Iin my existing code and potential things to consider...

In one of my mediators I'm dynamically creating some components based off the class names I get back in some xml from a service call:

//in setUpDataSelector function in mediator:
 for each(var pxml:XML in prompts) {
   var pmt:Prompt = UiHelper.instantiateUsingClassName( [email blocked]());
   //add Prompt component to layout
   dsLayout.dataselectorContainer.addChild(pmt as DisplayObject);
 }

The above can get called numerous times depending on what is clicked on from another menu. Before I'm doing the above, I'm making sure I remove any instances that were previously added to the container with:

for each (var prompt:Prompt in dsLayout.dataselectorContainer.getChildren()) {
    prompt.removeEventListeners();
    prompt = null;
 }

Each Prompt component is supposed to implement removeEventListeners and manually remove any event listeners that were setup in Prompt.

Some questions:
1) Is it really necessary to remove event listeners even if you are removing the object from the display and setting it to null (Actually I was INCREDIBLY surprised that just setting it to null wasn't enough? You'd think setting an instance to null would at least make it eligible for garbage collection? Once set to null why wouldn't any event handlers registered also go out of scope and be removed?