Wanting to use DRY priciples, wondering on best practice for using resusable components...

rickcr

26 Apr, 2010 03:19 PM

I'm still a Flex newb, and I apologize up-front if I phrase this poorly, and this isn't probably a question specific to RL, but possibly RobotLegs helps address my concerns.

To try to sum up the concern: How do you best handle the situation when you have multiple views of the same type in existence but when you fire off system events you only want the specific view's mediator instance to handle the system event (even though the mediator type is the same across the common views?)

To try it break it down into a really dumbed down example:

• You have a "Sports" view page that contains two generic subviews each with a generic view - one subview of "baseball" players the other subview of "hockey" players (subview is type "PlayersComponent" with a corresponding "PlayersMediator.)
  • When the user clicks 'add a new player' in a sub view, it fires off the getPlayers chain being passed in a "sportsTypeID" and it calls the service which returns the players from the db.
  • When the service returns it fires a system event that needs to be picked up the appropriate subView's mediator (it's more than just a simple update the bound model of players.)

The issue is that since it's a systemEvent (let's call it "PlayersRetrievedEvent") it will get picked up by both the mediator of the hockey players view and the mediator of the baseball players view (since it's the same type of Mediator.)

The easy way "I think" to make sure only the appropriate mediator instance handles the event is to make sure look for a particular id - in this example proposed I could pass back the "sportsType" ID in the event and in the mediator:

onPlayersRetrieved(event:PlayersRetrievedEvent) {
    if (event.sportsTypeID != this.sportsTypeID ) return;
    ...//ok to proceed we our handling in the correct mediator
 }