Command Notificitation

brucealmighty

13 Sep, 2010 05:25 PM

Hi

I am new to RL, coming from PureMVC I figured I'd build small projects with RL...

In pureMVC, I normally have ApplicationConstant then use "sendnotification()" which I can pick up anywhere from within the app. Especially in the Command notifictication.

How would I go about this process i.e

Send notification from Mediator and have the Command listen to it.

I can elaborate more if it's not clear enough.

Thanks

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Shaun Smith on 13 Sep, 2010 05:46 PM

Hi there,

Instead of using a custom Notification scheme (like PureMVC), Robotlegs simply uses a native flash IEventDispatcher to communicate between objects. To execute commands when a given event is fired you'd use the ICommandMap:

http://github.com/robotlegs/robotlegs-framework/blob/v1.1.2/src/org...

// Wherever you do your configuration (third param is for type-safety):
    commandMap.mapEvent( SomeEvent.BOOM, SomeCommand, SomeEvent );

// Somewhere else (in a Mediator, Command, Model or Service):
    eventDispatcher.dispatchEvent( new SomeEvent(SomeEvent.BOOM) );

Mediators and Actors have a shortcut for event dispatching:

http://github.com/robotlegs/robotlegs-framework/blob/v1.1.2/src/org...

Hope that helps! Let me know if you need more info.

2. 2 Posted by Paul Robertson on 13 Sep, 2010 05:50 PM

Use dispatch(event) (from Mediator, Command, or Actor) to send an
    event into the event bus. The event will trigger any commands that are
    mapped to that event. Also, any mediators that have mapped a listener
    for the event will pick it up.

Mapping commands:
    commandMap.mapEvent(EventClass.TYPE, CommandClass, EventClass);

Mapping listeners (in mediators):
    addContextListener(EventClass.TYPE, handlerFunction, EventClass);

(which is just syntactic sugar for this, which you are more likely to
    encounter in examples)
    eventMap.mapListener(eventDispatcher, EventClass.TYPE, handlerFunction,