VO, Model and event dispatching

Visnik

05 May, 2011 04:20 PM

I am new to Robot legs, been playing with it for about a week, and I had a question am hopping someone would be nice enough to clarify, offer advice or point me in the right direction. I am building a flex app to play around with the RL framwork, I created a Model object and it references multiple Value Objects. I am having my command(s) update the Value Objects through the Model. Once a given value is updated in a particular VO, I want to dispatch an event from the VO for a mediator to listen for. I was thinking I should extend the VO with the Actor Class so the event with within the RL framwork. This threw an error. Can this be done, or should I think about a traditional binding approach?

Thanks,

1. 2 Posted by Jos Yule on 05 May, 2011 05:41 PM

Well, you might want to just have the Model itself send out a specific event for each VO which is updated, or a generic "update" event, with the VO included in the event (as a data member).

VOs are, generally, supposed to be pretty dumb. Make the model do the work! :)

peace
    jos

2. 3 Posted by Inxentas on 07 May, 2011 11:04 AM

I'm currently using Zend AMF to pull entities from a server. While these do not extend Actor, I do store and organize them in a model. In my case, a single model with a few VO members are sufficient. VO's are indeed supposed to be dumb. Most of mine have a few getters to turn unix timestamps into more usefull Date objects. They generally don't even extend anything unless it's really needed, usefull, or represents serverside-defined inheritance. In that case I just map the base classes.

A conceptual flow would be like this...

1) Through event mediation a Command is executed.
    2) The Command does work on an injected Actor.
    3) The Model or Command dispatches a relevant event.
    4) Mediators work their magic on the view.