Mediators in Flash CS5

Nico

13 Oct, 2011 06:01 PM

Hello Guys! Im a bit new to RobotLegs but im realy enjoying it. Just a question though. I know that mediators will fire up on ADDED TO STAGE event. Is there a way to make it fire without using addChild or dispatching ADDED TO STAGE event of that view object? Let's say a view object already on the stage?

1. 2 Posted by Michal Wroblewski on 13 Oct, 2011 06:14 PM

Just use an instance of mediatorMap and use createMediator method.

Do you have any problems with Flash CS5 as you only mentioned it in the title?

2. 3 Posted by Stray on 13 Oct, 2011 06:22 PM

Hi Nico,

you can manually attach a mediator - just make the mapping as normal, and then do:

mediatorMap.createMediator(viewOnStage);

This will trigger the mediatorMap to do the same as would happen if the view had just landed on the stage.

hth,

Stray

3. 4 Posted by Stray on 13 Oct, 2011 06:28 PM

Ah! Thanks Michal, you beat me to it :)

4. 5 Posted by Nico on 13 Oct, 2011 06:35 PM

Thanks so much guys! yeah, I've read it on the docs. One last question guys, where will i place the createMediator method? From the looks of it, i think i can only have access to the view inside the ViewMediator since my view is injected from there. Really sorry guys for such a noob question >.<

5. 6 Posted by Nico on 13 Oct, 2011 06:37 PM

will it also trigger the onRegister event when creating the mediator manually instead of automatically?

6. 7 Posted by Stray on 13 Oct, 2011 06:43 PM

Yes, it will also trigger that.

Where you call it depends entirely on your app - basically you simply need to make sure you've got access to both the mediatorMap and the view you want to mediate in the same place.